01332 227 774


Keynote Speakers

Dr Kevin Currell FBASES
Director of Science and Technical Development, UK Sports Institute

Dr Kevin Currell is Director of Performance Support and Science at the UK Sports Institute.  He is part of the senior leadership team of UKSI with leadership for the delivery and alignment of performance services to sports need, quality assurance of the science services and development of practitioners.    Prior to this he led the delivery of nutrition services in UKSI to Olympic and Paralympic sports.  As a nutritionist he supported athletes into five summer and winter Olympic Games, primarily in Triathlon, Canoe Slalom and Short Track Speed Skating.  He holds an MBA from Warwick Business School and a PhD from the University of Birmingham. 

Keynote Presentation Title: Reflections on Sports Science Support for Team GB at the 2024 Paralympic and Olympic Games 

We used to work in four-year Olympic and Paralympic cycles. How we yearn for that certainty again.  The session will share the journey from Tokyo to Paris.  Telling the story of how UKSI rapidly adapted post Tokyo to take advantage of a three year Olympic and Paralympic cycle with a focus on collaboration and getting different scientific disciplines to work together on the things that matter for coaches and athletes. 

Prof Catherine Ross CSci. CBiol. FRSB. FAHCS. FESC
Scotland's Chief Scientific Officer

Catherine Ross is the Chief Scientific Officer for Scotland, Scottish Government’s most senior clinical advisor for Healthcare Science professional issues, and head of profession for the scientific workforce within the NHS in Scotland. She provides expert professional advice to Scottish Ministers and Policy Officials and leadership for all aspects of policy which impact on the scientific workforce including education, research and clinical practice.

Catherine is non-executive director of the Belfast Health and Social Care Trust, Northern Irelands largest health trust. Catherine is a Chartered Scientist and Chartered Biologist, and is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Biology, the Academy of Healthcare Science, the National Institute of Prevention and Cardiovascular Health in Ireland and the European Society of Cardiology. She is a Visiting Professor at Edinburgh Napier University, Manchester Metropolitan University and Honorary Research Consultant in NHS Lothian.

Catherine holds a number of senior leadership positions Nationally and Internationally and has served as the President of the Professional Body for Cardiac Scientists. She is the current Vice-Chair of the Science Council, the international awarding body of Chartership in Science, as well as a member of the Science Council Board of Trustees and Chair of the Policy Advisory Committee. She is currently an executive Board member of the Association of Cardiovascular Nursing and Allied Professions within the European Society of Cardiology (ESC), and is the current Secretary/Treasurer of the Board and Member of the European Society of Cardiology Taskforce on Allied Professionals. She represents Scotland on the International Federation of Medical and Biological Engineering (IFMBE) Board and is a member of the International (IFMBE) scientific programme committee. In recognition of her work supporting women leaders has been an invited delegate for the UK UN Women delegation on the UN Commission on the Status of Women.

Catherine’s professional interests include cross-boundary working, professional identity and heart failure and is an Editorial Board member of the British Journal of Cardiology and peer reviewer for a number of international scientific journals. She has led and been involved in a number of STEM initiatives aimed at inspiring children and in particular girls, to pursue a career in science.

Keynote Presentation Title: Science in Health – ensuring sustainable NHS services for the future

Session Overview to follow 

Symposia Speakers

Dr Danielle Adams Norenberg (UK Sports Institute)

Dr Jonathan M. Bird (University of Exeter)

Dr Stefan Birkett (Manchester Metropolitan University)

Prof Lettie Bishop (Loughborough University)

Prof Nassos Bissas (University of Gloucestershire)

Andy Boyd (Scottish Rugby)

Prof Nachiappan Chockalingam (Staffordshire University)

Dr Andy Daly-Smith (University of Bradford)

Dr Jeanne Dekerle (University of Brighton)

Nik Diaper (UK Sports Institute)

Prof Michael Duncan FBASES (Coventry University)

Prof Mark Faghy (University of Derby)

Dr Laura-Anne Furlong (Loughborough University)

Dr David Johnson (West Ham United FC)

Prof Costas Karageorghis FBASES (Brunel University London)

Dr Alison Kirk (University of Strathclyde)

Prof Moira Lafferty (University of Chester)

Dr Heather Massey (University of Portsmouth)

Philippa McGregor (Thrive2Perform)

Dr Gemma Miller (Liverpool John Moores University)

Dr Pete Olusoga (Sheffield Hallam University)

Richard Powell (University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire)

Carlos Ramirez (Scottish Rugby)

Jo Rycroft (Liverpool John Moores University)

Luke Smith (West Ham United FC)

Caoimhe Tiernan (University of Limerick)

Prof Mike Tipton (University of Portsmouth)

Dr Esther van Sluijs (University of Cambridge)

Dr Paula Watson (Made Up to Move Ltd)